Global AI Summit (GAIN)

A government-convened AI summit in Riyadh whose fourth edition, first set for 15 to 17 September 2026, was pushed back a full year by its organiser SDAIA to 7 to 9 September 2027.

DATES
7 to 9 September 2027
VENUE
King Abdulaziz International Conference Center, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
ORGANISER
Saudi Data and Artificial Intelligence Authority (SDAIA), with HUMAIN
ATTENDANCE
18,000 participants targeted (unverifiable information)

The critical finding this pass: the fourth GAIN edition, previously recorded in this fiche and in the database as running 15-17 September 2026, was rescheduled by SDAIA on 2026-08-06 to 7-9 September 2027, a full year later, at the same venue. This was not caught by the 2026-09-01 verification pass, which predates the 6 August announcement by three weeks; the 2026-09-09 pass that produced the work skeleton did not catch it either, four days before the originally planned opening.

Method note on the official site: globalaisummit.org's rendered homepage returns almost no visible text to a plain fetch (WebFetch and a bare curl both get an emptied HTML shell), and several of its sub-pages return the host's bot-protection page ("The requested URL was rejected") to both WebFetch and an unadorned curl request. The homepage is a SharePoint-hosted single-page app that fills itself in by calling its own data endpoints in the browser; those same endpoints, called directly with the Referer and X-Requested-With headers the page's own script sends, return their data openly with no authentication. Read that way on 2026-09-11, they gave: the homepage slider record, whose DateTime field reads "7 - 9 September , 2027" (independent, organiser-side confirmation of the reschedule) while its accompanying description paragraph in the same record still opens "The Global AI Summit GAIN 2026" and calls it "the 2026 edition" throughout, an internal inconsistency on the organiser's own page rather than a competing date; the programme datasource, which returns zero records ("there are no items to show in this view"); the speaker datasource, 104 records tagged 2022 and 90 tagged 2024, plus exactly one record tagged to a later year, an untitled placeholder ("2025 title", no position, a numbered stand-in image, not shown on the homepage); the sponsor datasource, records tagged only 2022 and 2024; the registration link named on the site, registration.globalaisummit.org/request-invitation, which itself returned an HTTP 401 authorisation error rather than a form when requested directly; and the recent-news feed, whose ten most recent entries are all 2024-edition or earlier press items, none about the fourth edition or the postponement. None of this required credentials or any access beyond what the page's own script performs; it is not a claim that the rendered page or its blocked sub-paths were bypassed.

Corrections against the previous (v0.3, 2026-09-01) fiche: dates, next_edition_year and the whole "when-where" and "whats-new" framing changed from the 2026 dates to the 2027 postponement; attendance reframed around the documented 2024 figures (450+ speakers, 100+ countries, 150 sessions, 32,000 expected and 30,000+ actual delegates, sourced this pass to aawsat and PR Newswire) rather than repeating the previous fiche's unsourced "32,000+ at the 2024 edition" table cell without its own citation; 2024 agreement count corrected to "more than 80" per SDAIA's own closing announcement (spa.gov.sa/en/N2170852), against a mid-summit "70+" figure in an earlier PR Newswire release, both cited.

The "AI Now / AI Next / AI Never" theme structure and the 18,000-participant, 30-million-viewer and 300-speaker, 170-session targets are marked unverifiable information: they recur across independent event-listing sites (SaudiCon, Motaded) and across WebSearch summaries, but could not be traced to a directly quoted organiser or wire-service sentence, and the organiser's own programme and strategic-goals feeds, read directly, do not contain them either.

Database elements consciously left out or changed: the database's date_2026_start/end (2026-09-15/17) and next-edition framing are superseded by the 2027 reschedule and should be corrected at the source, not applied by this fiche, since this office was not asked to run --apply; ticketing_platform (registration.globalaisummit.org) kept and extended with the exact request-invitation path found on the organiser's site; its certificate mismatch (ksa-fiiplatform.registration-system.fr, issued 2026-09-07) is noted as consistent with a shared government registration platform, not treated as a hijack; twitter_handle kept; official_media_partners is empty in the database and no media partner tier was found on any source consulted, so no "(media partner)" tag was needed.

Not verified: any 2027 accessibility provision, refund policy, press accreditation process, session format or side event; whether the 18,000/30 million/300-speaker/170-session targets belong to the original 2026 plan, to the new 2027 plan, or are recycled boilerplate across both; whether HUMAIN's role continues unchanged into 2027 (documented only for the 2026 announcement and the March 2026 MWC Barcelona pavilion, both before the postponement); the content behind the registration portal's authorisation wall; the venue's 2027 accessibility or transport provisions specifically, as distinct from the venue's general profile.

What is the Global AI Summit (GAIN)?

GAIN is Saudi Arabia's state-convened international forum on artificial intelligence policy, research and national deployment. It is organised in Riyadh by the Saudi Data and Artificial Intelligence Authority (SDAIA), the government body that runs the Kingdom's data and AI strategy, and it sits inside the Vision 2030 agenda. GAIN gathers policymakers, investors, researchers and technology executives to discuss the state of AI, investment cases, governance commitments and national deployment, and it functions as a venue for state-to-corporate agreements rather than as a commercial trade show. It is an in-person, on-site summit; no hybrid or virtual attendance track is documented for any edition. Editions have run on a biennial rhythm since 2020, 2022 and 2024; the fourth edition, first announced for September 2026, has been postponed to 7 to 9 September 2027, which will make the gap since the third edition three years rather than two.

When and where does GAIN take place in 2027?

GAIN's fourth edition runs 7 to 9 September 2027 at the King Abdulaziz International Conference Center in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, the same venue used for the 2024 edition. SDAIA first announced the fourth edition for 15 to 17 September 2026, under the patronage of Crown Prince and Prime Minister Mohammed bin Salman, who chairs the SDAIA board. On 6 August 2026, Arab News reported that SDAIA had rescheduled the summit to September 2027, citing "a shared request from the summit's international partners to allow for further consultations on the event's program in light of the rapid global developments in AI." The organiser's own site confirms the new date directly: its homepage data feed, read on 11 September 2026, carries the field DateTime="7 - 9 September , 2027", while the accompanying description paragraph in the same record still opens "The Global AI Summit GAIN 2026" and refers throughout to "the 2026 edition", an unresolved inconsistency on the organiser's own page rather than a second, competing date. As of 11 September 2026, the date the original edition would have opened, no venue change, further postponement or cancellation had been reported.

Who organises GAIN, and what is HUMAIN's role?

SDAIA organises GAIN. It is a Saudi government authority created by royal decree in 2019, reporting to the Prime Minister, headquartered in Riyadh and led by Dr Abdullah Alghamdi. For the fourth edition, SDAIA runs GAIN in partnership with HUMAIN, the AI company established under the Public Investment Fund and launched by Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman in May 2025. The partnership was on display in March 2026, when GAIN presented its fourth-edition strategy from a dedicated pavilion at MWC Barcelona, its first international roadshow appearance. HUMAIN had no role in the 2020, 2022 or 2024 editions.

Who attends GAIN?

No confirmed 2027 attendance figure has been published by SDAIA. A target of 18,000 participants and 30 million online viewers circulates across event-listing sites summarising the organiser's stated goals for this edition (unverifiable information): this office could not confirm it against a directly quoted organiser statement or against the organiser's own programme and speaker data feeds, which hold no 2027 content. The audience is documented for the 2024 edition: SDAIA declared more than 450 speakers from over 100 countries, 150 sessions, and more than 30,000 delegates over three days, against an initial expectation of 32,000. Past editions drew government delegations, ministers and national AI authority officials, technology executives, researchers and academics, and enterprise AI leads, alongside accredited press. No 2027 breakdown by attendee type is published.

Who are the confirmed speakers at GAIN?

No 2027 speaker list is public. The organiser's own speaker database, read directly on 11 September 2026, holds 104 records tagged to the 2022 edition and 90 to the 2024 edition; it holds exactly one record tagged to a future edition, an untitled placeholder entry ("2025 title", no position, a numbered stand-in image, marked not to show on the homepage), not a real name. Registration, the programme and sponsors have not opened as of 11 September 2026, over a year before the postponed dates. The names on record belong to the 2024 edition, GAIN's third: Cristiano Amon (Qualcomm), Julie Sweet (Accenture), Nick Studer (Oliver Wyman), Marc Raibert (Boston Dynamics and RAI Institute), Marcelo Claure, Amandeep Gill, Kathleen Kennedy (MIT Center for Collective Intelligence), Alex Smola, Andrew Feldman (Cerebras), Jonathan Ross (Groq), Stefan Schnorr, Charles-Edouard Bouée, Lord Sarfraz, Professor Simon See, Antony Cook, Tanuj Bhojwani, Dr Fang Xu, Dr Jake P. Taylor-King, Dr Seth Dobrin, Dr Eva-Marie Muller-Stuler, Jason Pontin, Dr Samer Al Moubayed and Dr Daniel Hulme, among further names in the full 2024 roster published by SDAIA (published roster for that edition, not the 2027 one).

What's new at GAIN for 2027?

The date. Nothing else about the 2027 edition has been published. SDAIA's fourth edition of GAIN was announced in 2026 for 15 to 17 September 2026, then rescheduled on 6 August 2026 to 7 to 9 September 2027, a postponement of almost exactly one year, at the same Riyadh venue. SDAIA gave the reason as a request from the summit's international partners for further consultation on the programme, "in light of the rapid global developments in AI." For the first time, HUMAIN co-organises alongside SDAIA, a partnership not present in the 2020, 2022 or 2024 editions. No 2027 theme, agenda, speaker or sponsor announcement has followed the rescheduling as of 11 September 2026.

What's on the GAIN programme?

None yet: the organiser's own programme database, read directly on 11 September 2026, returns no records at all ("there are no items to show in this view"). No 2027 agenda, track list or session count is published anywhere else either. Third-party event listings describe a programme organised around three themes attributed to this edition, which this office could not confirm against a directly quoted organiser sentence (unverifiable information): "AI Now", covering how the sector's leaders deploy, scale and apply the technology today, through keynotes, workshops, panels and technology demonstrations; "AI Next", on the effect of the technology on people, businesses and government organisations; and "AI Never", opening debate on the ethics and limits of responsible use. The organiser's general strategic-goals and pillars text, not tied to any edition year, covers government AI strategy, generative AI and progress toward artificial general intelligence, human-AI interaction, AI ethics and governance, business strategy, AI infrastructure and hardware, sector applications, and AI in urban life, which overlaps with but does not confirm the "Now/Next/Never" framing. The recurring subject matter across the 2020, 2022 and 2024 editions was sovereign AI and national compute, AI governance and regulatory frameworks, Arabic-language AI including SDAIA's ALLaM model, and sector deployment in energy, health, finance and public services. That is continuity of theme across past editions and undated organiser messaging, not a confirmed 2027 programme.

What session formats does GAIN use?

Not documented for 2027; no format list has been published since the rescheduling. Past editions ran keynote addresses, panel discussions, workshops and an exhibition of AI applications and research, plus a dedicated youth and talent development track. The 2024 edition also hosted the International AI Olympiad, a competition with participants from 25 countries, alongside the main summit programme.

What side events run alongside GAIN?

Not publicly disclosed for 2027. No side-event page has been published since the rescheduling. In 2024 the International AI Olympiad ran alongside the main summit as a named companion event; whether it repeats in 2027 is not documented.

How much do GAIN tickets cost?

Not publicly disclosed. Registration for the 2027 edition has not opened, and no price list has been published. One event-listing aggregator lists the ticket as free (unverifiable information), which this office could not confirm against the organiser. The organiser's own site names a registration path, registration.globalaisummit.org/request-invitation, confirming the model is by invitation request rather than open purchase; that page itself returned an authorisation error (HTTP 401) rather than a form when checked directly on 11 September 2026, so no price or open registration exists there yet. In previous editions the same portal operated on controlled access, requiring an invitation code, a passport-style ID and a photograph rather than open purchase. The registration subdomain presents a TLS certificate issued for a different hostname (ksa-fiiplatform.registration-system.fr, issued 7 September 2026), consistent with a shared government event-registration platform used across Saudi state-convened events rather than with a dedicated GAIN system or a hijacked domain.

How to become a speaker at GAIN?

Not publicly disclosed. No 2027 call for speakers, enquiry form or contact for speaking proposals has been published since the rescheduling. Past editions built their rosters from SDAIA's own invitations to government officials, technology executives and researchers rather than from an open call for papers.

How to become a sponsor or exhibitor at GAIN?

Not publicly disclosed. No 2027 sponsorship or exhibitor enquiry channel has been published since the rescheduling. The 2024 edition produced sponsor-style partnerships rather than a published tiered exhibitor package: "solutions by stc" partnered with the summit, and stc Group closed the edition with what it described as strategic partnerships and the launch of its own AI lab, both announced through the Saudi Press Agency rather than through a public GAIN sponsorship prospectus.

Who sponsors GAIN?

No 2027 sponsor list is published: the organiser's own sponsor database, read directly on 11 September 2026, holds only records tagged to the 2022 and 2024 editions, none to 2026 or 2027. GAIN functions as a venue for state-level agreements and memoranda rather than a tiered commercial sponsorship exhibition. At the 2024 edition, SDAIA announced memoranda of understanding with Microsoft on a generative AI centre of excellence for Arabic models, with IBM on hosting watsonx and ALLaM on the government cloud, and separate cooperation with Dell, Oracle and KloudSpot; NVIDIA agreed to supply 5,000 graphics processing units for Saudi AI infrastructure; and "solutions by stc" partnered with the summit. SDAIA's own count for the 2024 edition, given at its close, was more than 80 local and international agreements signed and more than 25 initiatives launched. None of this is a 2027 partner or sponsor list.

What types of companies are majority represented at GAIN?

Not publicly disclosed for 2027; no exhibitor or delegate breakdown by company type has been published since the rescheduling. Past editions are documented mainly through their speaker rosters and signed agreements rather than a stated company mix: government AI authorities and ministries, global technology vendors that signed 2024 memoranda (Microsoft, IBM, Dell, Oracle, NVIDIA, stc), and technology executives, researchers and academics from more than 100 countries in 2024. No majority can be stated from what is published.

How do you get press accreditation for GAIN?

Not publicly disclosed. No 2027 media accreditation form, deadline or press contact has been published since the rescheduling, and the official site rejects automated access. Past editions were covered through SDAIA's own press releases distributed by the Saudi Press Agency and through wire distribution (PR Newswire, Business Standard), rather than through a documented open accreditation process for independent press.

What press coverage has GAIN received?

Coverage found on and after 6 August 2026, when the postponement became public: Arab News, in the article reporting the new 7 to 9 September 2027 dates and SDAIA's stated reason; the Middle East AI News newsletter by Carrington Malin, which listed the rescheduling as a headline story in its 8 August 2026 briefing, citing Arab News; and the SaudiCon and Motaded event-listing sites, which had updated their pages to the 2027 dates by the time of this check. Coverage of the original 2026 announcement, now superseded, ran in Arab News, the Saudi Press Agency, Saudi Gazette and Saudipedia. Coverage of the 2024 edition ran through SDAIA's own press releases on the Saudi Press Agency wire, syndicated by Asharq Al-Awsat, PR Newswire and Business Standard.

How reliable is the reported press coverage of GAIN?

Mostly organiser-supplied. The Saudi Press Agency is the Saudi state news agency and reports SDAIA's own announcements; Arab News and Saudi Gazette, both Saudi outlets, reported the 2026 announcement and the 2027 postponement on the same basis. The 2024 attendance, speaker and agreement figures were distributed by SDAIA itself over the PR Newswire and Business Standard wire services, a self-declared and unaudited channel rather than independent reporting. The Middle East AI News item on the postponement is a secondary aggregation of the Arab News story, not independent verification. No official_media_partners tier is published by the organiser for this event, so no coverage on this page is marked as placed.

Who should skip GAIN?

Anyone planning around the originally reported 15 to 17 September 2026 dates: the fourth edition will not run in 2026, only in 2027. Developers and researchers wanting technical, peer-reviewed or hands-on sessions: GAIN's documented record is government agreements, ministerial keynotes and policy panels, not a proceedings track. Founders or vendors without an existing government or Gulf relationship looking for an open pitch stage or exhibitor package: none is documented for GAIN, in contrast to commercial Gulf AI trade shows such as the Global AI Show or Ai Everything. Anyone who needs a confirmed date, price or programme now: none is published for 2027, over a year ahead of the new dates.

Where does GAIN sit in the Saudi AI events calendar?

Nowhere in the near term. With the fourth edition moved to September 2027, GAIN falls out of the 2026 and early-2027 Saudi AI calendar entirely. That calendar continues without it: LEAP and DeepFest run in February at the Riyadh Exhibition and Convention Center, and the Global AI Show, a separate commercial event unrelated to GAIN despite the similar name, runs on its own schedule in Riyadh. GAIN's distinguishing feature when it does return is its convenor: SDAIA is a government AI authority, which gives GAIN ministerial participation and state-level agreements that commercial trade shows do not carry. Events Index tracks it in the AI and data vertical.

Are there other GAIN editions outside Riyadh?

No. All four editions of GAIN, 2020, 2022, 2024 and the postponed 2027 edition, are Riyadh events at Saudi government initiative; SDAIA has not run a GAIN edition in another city. GAIN should not be confused with other Saudi AI events that share the "global" or "AI" branding but are separate, commercially organised properties: the Global AI Show, a trade exhibition; LEAP, the Communications, Space and Technology Commission's consumer-facing technology event; and DeepFest, LEAP's AI-focused stage. None of these is a GAIN side event or alternative city edition.

What language is GAIN conducted in?

English is the language on record from past editions, alongside Arabic given the host authority and its Arabic-language AI initiatives such as ALLaM; SDAIA has not published a 2027 language policy since the rescheduling.

Can you attend GAIN remotely, or watch sessions afterward?

Not publicly disclosed for 2027. A target of 30 million online viewers is attributed to this edition on third-party event listings (unverifiable information), which would imply a livestream or broadcast component, but no livestream platform, replay policy or online-viewing registration has been published by SDAIA, and the claim could not be confirmed against an organiser statement.

What is GAIN's refund and cancellation policy?

Not publicly disclosed. Registration for the 2027 edition has not opened, so no refund or cancellation terms have been published. Past editions operated on invitation-based access rather than open ticket sales, which typically carries no published consumer refund policy.

Is GAIN accessible for attendees with disabilities?

Not publicly disclosed. SDAIA has not published an accessibility statement for GAIN, and the King Abdulaziz International Conference Center's own accessibility provisions for the 2027 edition could not be confirmed: the venue is a Saudi government conference complex, and general claims about wheelchair access found on third-party travel and listing sites could not be traced to an authoritative source for this booking.

How do you get to King Abdulaziz International Conference Center, Riyadh?

GAIN uses the King Abdulaziz International Conference Center in the Al Hada district of Riyadh, the same venue as the 2024 edition. No GAIN-specific travel guidance, such as airport transfer times, parking or public transport routes, has been published for the 2027 edition; the organiser's travel and logistics pages, part of the site that rejects automated access, could not be checked directly.

Why does GAIN matter despite the year-long postponement?

Because the postponement itself is a signal about who GAIN answers to. A commercial conference rarely moves its flagship edition by a full year on the stated grounds that "international partners" want more time to consult on the programme; a government-convened policy summit can, because its value lies in the agreements it produces rather than in ticket sales or a fixed exhibition calendar. SDAIA's 2024 edition closed with more than 80 signed agreements and memoranda, from a generative AI centre with Microsoft to a 5,000-GPU commitment from NVIDIA: that is the currency GAIN trades in, and a delay that lets SDAIA and HUMAIN land better agreements in 2027 is consistent with that purpose, even if it leaves the event absent from the 2026 Saudi AI calendar it was expected to anchor.

Why should a reader treat GAIN's 2027 figures with care?

Because almost none of what circulates about the postponed edition, its 18,000-participant and 30-million-viewer targets, its free ticket price, and its "AI Now, AI Next, AI Never" theme structure, could be traced back to a directly quoted SDAIA or Saudi Press Agency statement in this review, nor to the organiser's own programme, speaker and sponsor records, which this office read directly and found empty for any edition after 2024. Third-party event-listing sites repeat these figures without citing a source this office could independently check. What is solidly sourced, including from the organiser's own site, is the reschedule itself: Arab News reported it with a quoted SDAIA rationale on 6 August 2026, and the organiser's own homepage feed carries the new date, even while its accompanying description text still calls this "the 2026 edition". The 2024 figures that SDAIA distributed on its own wire are also solid. Until SDAIA publishes 2027 material directly, a reader should treat the newer numbers as reported, not confirmed.

Where can I find official information about GAIN?

Official site: globalaisummit.org/en (the bare domain redirects there; the address without a path serves an empty shell to a plain fetch). Its rendered homepage loads almost empty for a plain, non-browser fetch, and several of its sub-pages return a bot-protection error page rather than content; the underlying data feeds the page itself reads from (its slider, speakers, sponsors and programme records) are openly served with no authentication once requested the way the page's own script requests them, and this fiche is sourced against those feeds directly, read on 11 September 2026. Organiser: sdaia.gov.sa/en (the bare domain serves an Arabic-only homepage). Registration: registration.globalaisummit.org/request-invitation, named on the organiser's own site as the invitation-request path; it returns an authorisation error rather than a form as of this check, not the open form its name implies. Social: X, @globalaisummit. The rescheduling to 7 to 9 September 2027 was reported by Arab News on 6 August 2026, citing SDAIA, and is confirmed independently by the date field on the organiser's own homepage feed.