UK Private Capital Summit

Annual two-day flagship gathering of the UK private capital industry, run by the association formerly known as the BVCA and rebranded UK Private Capital in January 2026. Held in London each September, it brings together more than 1,350 general partners, limited partners, placement agents, and service providers for policy debate, pensions and market outlook sessions, and structured LP-GP roundtables.

DATES
9-10 September 2026
VENUE
Convene Sancroft, St Paul's, London, United Kingdom
ORGANISER
UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)
ATTENDANCE
1,350+ delegates (550+ GPs, 250+ LPs, 400+ companies represented)

Definition

The UK Private Capital Summit, listed for years as the BVCA Summit, is the annual flagship event of the UK private capital industry association, the body historically known as the British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association (BVCA) and rebranded UK Private Capital with effect from 27 January 2026. It convenes general partners, limited partners, placement agents, and service providers over two days in London. Structured as four co-located events across two days, it serves as the primary forum for the UK private capital industry to address policy, pensions, market direction, and investment conditions. It sits within the private capital circuit tracked by Events Index and opens the EMEA autumn calendar each September.

What we know about the 2026 edition

The 2026 Summit runs on 9-10 September at Sancroft, St Paul's, a Convene venue at Christchurch Court, Paternoster Square, London EC4M 7DQ. It carries the theme "Investing for a better economy," which frames the association's post-rebrand focus on private capital's contribution to UK economic growth. The event is built as four distinct programmes across the two days rather than a single continuous conference.

The organiser's site sets out ten thematic areas for the Main Conference, including UK pensions investment, private credit structures, the application of AI in investment strategy, the effect of geopolitics on sustainability, and talent development. The organiser's own marketing for the 2026 edition now cites 1,350+ attendees directly, an upward revision from the "1,200+" baseline figure used earlier in 2026, with a published breakdown of 550+ general partners, 250+ limited partners, and representatives from 400+ companies. The 2025 edition drew a comparable reported 1,350+ attendees.

The Main Conference venue was confirmed on 23 May 2026 as Sancroft, which the organiser describes as offering 45,000 sq ft and a 900-person plenary. Day one runs at a separate venue: the Pensions Investment Summit and the LP-GP Summit are both held at Convene 200 Aldersgate, St Paul's, London EC1A 4HD, before the programme moves to Sancroft for the Main Conference on day two.

The speaker programme, unpublished as of the last verification, is now live in full. More than 80 speakers are confirmed across the four events, headlined by Nikhil Rathi (Chief Executive, Financial Conduct Authority), the Rt Hon Lucy Rigby KC MP (Economic Secretary to the Treasury), Amol Rajan (BBC political broadcaster), Professor Sir Ian Chapman (Chief Executive, UK Research and Innovation), Howard Dawber OBE (Deputy Mayor of London for Business and Growth), and Nathanaël Benjamin (Executive Director for Financial Stability Strategy and Risk, Bank of England), alongside senior figures from GP and LP firms including Inflexion, Hg, Bain Capital, Blackstone, ICG, Ardian, Hamilton Lane, Pantheon, CPP Investments, and Partners Group.

Sponsors and partners

The 2026 commercial roster is organised in tiers and has grown since the last verification. Aon holds the Summit Main Conference Principal Sponsor slot, with SS&C as Day One Principal Sponsor and also an Associate Sponsor of the Main Conference. EY has joined as a new Associate Sponsor of the Main Conference alongside PitchBook, which doubles as a Supporting Partner of the LP Summit; Herbert Smith Freehills Kramer (HSF Kramer) is Associate Sponsor of the Pensions Investment Summit. Guernsey Finance backs the VC Stage and coffee, Debevoise & Plimpton sponsors the breakout sessions, Climate-X sponsors the roundtables, Clifford Chance co-sponsors the LP-GP Dinner, and Belasko underwrites Wi-Fi and registration. AlphaSense, Beazley, BNY, and Preqin sit on the exhibitor tier. The 10,000 Interns Foundation is the Charity Partner, and SuperReturn, the Institutional Limited Partners Association (ILPA), and TresVista join as Supporting Partners.

The presence of both PitchBook and Preqin on the roster puts the two dominant private markets data providers at the same event, while the law-firm sponsorships (Debevoise & Plimpton, HSF Kramer, Clifford Chance) reflect the transactional and regulatory advisory community that surrounds UK private capital. EY's arrival as an Associate Sponsor adds a Big Four advisory presence alongside those firms.

The rebrand: from BVCA to UK Private Capital

The most significant change to this event in 2026 is organisational rather than logistical. Following a member consultation and approval at the association's AGM, the British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association began operating as UK Private Capital with effect from 27 January 2026, moving to the domain ukprivatecapital.co.uk under the tagline "Invested in a better future." The association, founded in 1983, said the previous name had become harder to explain to investors, media, and policymakers as private credit grew in importance across its membership of more than 600 firms.

Chief Executive Michael Moore framed the change in terms of clarity: "Adopting the name UK Private Capital gives us a clearer platform from which to set out who we represent and to engage more effectively." Chair Matthew Sabben-Clare said the board recommended the change "because it is clearer, better reflects the industry and builds a platform for the strategy of representing the scope and diversity of the industry." The association stressed that the rebrand was not a change of remit: it continues to represent private equity, venture capital, and private credit. The Summit's own branding sits in transition, with both the bvca.co.uk and ukprivatecapital.co.uk domains still resolving to the 2026 event.

Where the BVCA Summit sits in the autumn private capital calendar

The BVCA Summit opens the EMEA private capital autumn circuit. September in London precedes the denser October and November cluster anchored in Paris and Amsterdam, giving the Summit a distinctive position as the UK industry's first major gathering after the summer recess. For managers and allocators with a UK regulatory or portfolio focus, it functions as the calendar reference point before the continental autumn sequence begins with events such as IPEM Global in Paris.

Its national-association character sets it apart from the commercial pan-European forums on the same private capital circuit. Where SuperReturn International and LPGP Connect are built around fundraising and matchmaking across geographies, the BVCA Summit's centre of gravity is UK policy, pensions, and the regulatory environment. It is closer in intent to a fixture like the Invest Europe Investors Forum than to a deal-flow event, with a heavier policy and public-affairs weighting.

Who attends the BVCA Summit

What the BVCA Summit format includes

The Summit is not a single continuous conference but four co-located programmes. The Pensions Investment Summit and LP-GP Summit run on day one, followed by an invitation-based LP-GP Dinner; the Summit Main Conference occupies day two. Across those formats the event combines:

The full speaker programme for 2026 is now published, with more than 80 confirmed names; session-level titles and stage assignments sit in the organiser's separate linked agenda rather than on the summit pages themselves.

How meetings are scheduled at the BVCA Summit

The format integrates roundtables, the LP-GP Summit, and an invitation-based LP-GP Dinner alongside the open conference programme, which points to a design built for direct GP-LP contact rather than passive session attendance. The LP-GP Summit itself has changed shape for 2026: the organiser describes it as building on the former LP Summit, with a limited number of GPs invited to attend alongside LPs for the first time, structured around one-to-one networking, and a combination ticket covering both the Summit and its Dinner. Whether advance scheduling of bilateral meetings is available through a dedicated platform or app is not publicly disclosed as of verification, and no official networking application has been confirmed for the 2026 edition. Professionals seeking a high-density structured LP-GP meeting programme with advance scheduling infrastructure may find the bilateral component here thinner than at purpose-built matchmaking events on the wider private capital circuit.

What the BVCA Summit programme covers

The organiser has published ten thematic areas for the 2026 Main Conference. Documented areas of focus include:

Speaker names for 2026 are now published in full; specific session titles and the detailed running order sit in the organiser's separate agenda document rather than on the summit pages themselves.

FAQ · Identity and audience

What kind of professional is the BVCA Summit built for?

The Summit is designed for practitioners working within or directly alongside the UK private capital industry: GPs running private equity, venture capital, or private credit funds, LPs allocating to those funds, intermediaries facilitating capital formation, and professional services firms advising the industry. The policy content and regulatory framing are calibrated to the UK market specifically. It is not a generalist finance conference; the audience is sector-specific.

Why did the BVCA rebrand to UK Private Capital, and does the Summit name change?

The association adopted the name UK Private Capital with effect from 27 January 2026 to reflect the growing weight of private credit alongside private equity and venture capital, and because the old acronym increasingly required explanation to investors, media, and policymakers. The Summit itself is in a naming transition: both the historic BVCA branding and the new UK Private Capital identity are attached to the 2026 event, and the two domains resolve to the same programme.

What is the LP and GP balance at the BVCA Summit?

The organiser now discloses a breakdown for 2026: 550+ general partners, 250+ limited partners, and representatives from 400+ companies, within an overall attendance figure of 1,350+. LP members receive complimentary access across all four events, and GP member firms receive a limited pool of complimentary Main Conference places, which suggests the organiser prioritises broad participation across both sides of the capital relationship.

How does the BVCA Summit differ from generalist EMEA private capital events?

The Summit is explicitly the flagship event of a national industry association rather than a commercially neutral multi-geography forum. Its content and attendee base are shaped by the UK regulatory and policy environment. Events such as IPEM Global and SuperReturn International draw a more geographically distributed and strategy-diverse audience for fundraising and dealmaking. The BVCA Summit carries institutional weight within the UK market that those events cannot replicate, but it does not position itself as the primary venue for pan-European LP-GP capital formation on the private capital circuit.

When does attending the BVCA Summit not make sense?

Several profiles are a poor fit. Fund managers with no UK portfolio exposure, LP mandate, or regulatory relationship will find the policy content largely irrelevant. Non-English-speaking allocators seeking multilingual programming will not find it here. GPs at very early formation stage who are not yet meeting institutional LPs may find the event premature relative to their fundraising readiness. Continental European service providers without a UK-facing practice gain limited commercial utility from the attendee mix. Those wanting a dense structured meeting programme may prefer a purpose-built matchmaking event such as LPGP Connect.

The venue: Sancroft, St Paul's

Sancroft, St Paul's is a managed conference and event venue at Christchurch Court, Paternoster Square, London EC4M 7DQ, immediately adjacent to St Paul's Cathedral in the City of London. Operated by Convene, it was confirmed as the 2026 Main Conference venue on 23 May 2026 and offers 45,000 sq ft with a 900-person plenary capacity. Its City location places it within walking distance of the offices of asset managers, law firms, fund administrators, and institutional investors, and supports the side-dinner and informal networking culture that extends the formal programme, with a concentration of suitable venues and hotels nearby.

Day one runs at a second Convene venue: the Pensions Investment Summit (9 September, 08:30-13:30) and the LP-GP Summit (9 September, 12:30-18:00) are both held at Convene 200 Aldersgate, St Paul's, London EC1A 4HD, a short walk from Sancroft, before the programme consolidates at Sancroft for the Main Conference on 10 September.

The organiser: UK Private Capital (formerly BVCA)

UK Private Capital, the industry body historically known as the British Private Equity and Venture Capital Association, is the association for the UK private capital sector. Founded in 1983, it represents more than 600 member firms spanning private equity, venture capital, and private credit. The association produces research, engages with policymakers and regulators on behalf of its members, and runs an annual events programme of which the Summit is the centrepiece. It is an industry association rather than a commercial event publisher, which shapes both the access model (complimentary for LP members and a pool of GP places) and the policy-weighted content of the Summit. In the months before the 2026 Summit, the association published its Venture Capital in the UK 2026 report, showing that the majority of UK VC investment now heads to deeptech and AI, and a sustainability report, "Investing in tomorrow: Private capital's role in the green transition," both feeding themes onto the Summit agenda. Association leadership has also moved on since the January rebrand: Richard Swann, a Partner at Inflexion, succeeded Matthew Sabben-Clare as Chair for the 2026-27 term on 8 April 2026, with Dana Haimoff appointed Vice Chair, and Swann is among the Summit's confirmed speakers.

Press interest and media coverage

The dominant press story attached to this event in 2026 is the rebrand of the organiser, which drew coverage across the UK trade and business press. Coverage splits by outlet type:

Given the BVCA's status as the UK industry's flagship trade body, the Summit itself typically attracts private capital trade titles such as Private Equity International and Real Deals for its policy and market-outlook sessions; with the 2026 speaker programme now published in full, dedicated summit coverage from those titles is expected to build closer to the September dates. Accredited journalist counts and media request volumes are not publicly disclosed by the organiser as of verification.

Editorial take

Two-day flagship of the UK's private capital industry association, rebranded from BVCA to UK Private Capital in January 2026. It bundles four formats over 9-10 September at Sancroft in the City of London: a Pensions Investment Summit and an LP-GP Summit on day one (plus an invitation-only LP-GP Dinner), then the full Summit Main Conference on day two. The theme "Investing for a better economy" frames the rebrand's focus on private capital's role in UK economic growth, with PitchBook and Preqin both sponsoring the data layer alongside major law firms. It is the opening fixture of the EMEA autumn private capital circuit and, ahead of the continental sequence, the UK industry's first set-piece after the summer.

How to register and what it costs

Access depends on attendee type. LP members receive complimentary access across all four events. For GPs, the Pensions Investment Summit is complimentary and by invitation only; GP member firms receive a limited pool of complimentary Main Conference tickets, with additional Main Conference places priced at £299 + VAT for members and £1,299 + VAT for non-members. The LP-GP Summit is £499 + VAT (members only) and the LP-GP Summit Dinner is £599 + VAT, with a combined LP-GP Summit and Dinner package at £899 + VAT. Professional services delegates attend the Main Conference at £1,799 + VAT for members and £2,999 + VAT for non-members. All figures are drawn from the organiser's ticketing page and were re-confirmed unchanged as of 18 August 2026. Registration is handled through the official UK Private Capital events pages. The event operates an open-access model for the Main Conference, so attendance is not restricted to members, though member and non-member pricing differ.

FAQ · Access and practicalities

How much does the BVCA Summit cost to attend?

It depends on attendee type. LP members attend all four events at no charge. GP members access the Pensions Summit by invitation and receive a limited pool of complimentary Main Conference tickets, then pay £299 + VAT per additional Main Conference place (£1,299 + VAT for GP non-members). The LP-GP Summit is £499 + VAT and its dinner £599 + VAT for members. Professional services delegates pay £1,799 + VAT (member) or £2,999 + VAT (non-member) for the Main Conference.

Is the BVCA Summit open to non-members?

Yes for the Main Conference, which operates an open-access model. Non-members pay higher rates (£1,299 + VAT for GP firms, £2,999 + VAT for professional services). Some day-one formats, such as the LP-GP Summit and the Pensions Investment Summit, are restricted to members or run by invitation only.

Are accommodation and travel arrangements provided by the organiser?

No hotel block or official accommodation arrangement is documented for the 2026 edition. Sancroft is in the City of London, which offers extensive hotel infrastructure at varying price points within walking distance or a short journey from the venue. Specific organiser guidance on travel or accommodation had not been published as of verification.

What is the cancellation and substitution policy for delegates?

Cancellation and substitution terms for the 2026 edition are not publicly disclosed as of the verification date. Delegates should consult the registration confirmation and the official UK Private Capital events page directly for applicable terms. Upcoming EMEA events are tracked on the Events Index upcoming calendar.

Resources

Official website https://www.ukprivatecapital.co.uk/events/summit.html
Register / tickets https://www.ukprivatecapital.co.uk/events/summit/tickets.html
LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/company/ukprivatecapital
Private capital circuit (Events Index) /private-capital.html
Upcoming EMEA events (Events Index) /upcoming.html